Let’s Get This Party Started + Blood Orange Sorbet

Blood OrangesFirst post on the new site! Woo hoo!

Confession: This is a revised post from my old blog. I figured as I begin the process of setting up this new site, I ought to transfer some of the old recipes that I don’t want to lose. Also, I’m lazy. It’s been quite fun to re-read what I wrote at the time, which was in my final months of college, as I was preparing to graduate. In other words, I started blogging more because that was less scary than applying for jobs.Blood Orange FleshBlood Orange JuiceThe first time I posted this, blood oranges were long out of season, so I’m proud to have this iteration out when you can still buy them and make this! Why so proud? Low standards.
Pretty Juiced OrangesStirring SorbetMy favorite part of this recipe is that, unlike egg-based ice creams, the cooking and chilling times are very short, so you can enjoy sorbet at a whim or temperature spike. Any citrus can be used, although make sure you adjust the sugar as needed (e.g. lemons will need more). It’s also a very easy recipe in which you could use an alternative sugar, such as honey or agave, but clearly I’m not interested in that healthy shit. Bring on the refined sugars!!ChurningBlood Orange Sorbet

I don’t have much else to say, other than the sorbet was unsurprisingly delicious, and that you should make it with your choice of fruit as soon as possible. Oh, and that seeing how much natural light I had in my kitchen in Ohio is now incredibly depressing.

Tips:

  • Use freshly squeezed juice
  • Getting said juice is much more easily done when the fruit is at room temperature and rolled around a bit on the counter because it breaks up the juice sacs (also it’s fun to do)
  • Citrus reamers yield the most juice, but in a pinch a fork works too
  • David says you don’t have to strain the pulp, and all I did was put my juicer on the “medium-pulp” setting. If anything, I think a little pulp gives the sorbet a nice texture
  • Always taste your juice to see how sweet they are, since every batch is different. I found mine to be exceptionally so, so I dialed down the sugar a bit to a very scant 1/4 cup (It might have been two tablespoons, I kinda forget…)

Blood Orange Sorbet

from David Lebovtiz (who else?)

  1. Juice your blood oranges. Then measure the juice.
  2. For each 1 cup of juice, figure 1/4 cup of granulated sugar to be added. For example: Use 1/2 cup sugar for 2 cups juice. (Again, adjust this according to your juice/taste)
  3. Put the sugar in a small, non-reactive saucepan. Add just enough juice to saturate it very well. Heat, stirring frequently, until the sugar is completely dissolved.
  4. Stir the sugar back into the reserved blood orange juice.
  5. Chill thoroughly, then freeze in your ice cream maker.

Leave a Reply

