Aaaand We’re Back! + Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

UntitledSo it’s been nearly a year since I’ve posted here, and sadly, it’s not because I haven’t had time to- I haven’t had time to bake at all. Since the pumpkin scones, my life essentially turned upside-down, but in a good way. I started working a full-time job, moved out into my “own”  (obviously I have a roommate) apartment, and basically all that stuff that happens after college. It’s been crazy and hectic and great, but unfortunately my newfound life has come at the cost of not having time to cook. Or rather, time to cook vs time to drink, and since I’m 22, you can probably guess which one won out…imageIn fact, it’s pretty depressing to think about how much I eat out now, and even though I’ve been telling myself that I would start cooking more since, well, January, the beginning of summer, and all of the peak produce and barbecues that come with summer finally got me to quit talking and start baking.UntitledAnd boy, have I- the amount of berries and rhubarb, as this post will demonstrate, that I have bought/cooked/consumed is crazy, and it’s still June! There have already been pies, cakes, sherberts, macarons and so on- it’s definitely been a zero-to-sixty switch. Which is fine, except for that whole NY becoming a giant swamp town in the city, and worse, the fruit flies that come with it. I won’t even begin to describe me and my roommate’s tactics for getting rid of them, but suffice it to say our kitchen is still a battlezone.
UntitledUntitled

Anyway, I’m kicking off my return to this site with one of my new favorite recipes: a stupidly easy and quick dessert that’s perfect for brining to dinner or just stuffing your face with.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

adapted from Desserts for Breakfast

Makes one 9” crisp

Filling:

  • 9 oz. rhubarb, peeled and chopped into small, 1/2” chunks
  • 12 oz. strawberries, hulled and halved (or quartered, if you have bigger strawberries)
  • 3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup corn starch

Topping:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • freshly grated zest of one lemon
  • 1 stick butter, cold

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
2. Make the filling first.  Toss and combine all of the filling ingredients in a bowl.  Spoon into the baking ramekins and set aside.
3. Make the crumb topping. Combine all of the ingredients except the butter in a bowl.
4. Using a pastry cutter or fork, cut the butter into the flour mixture.  Continue until the butter is the size of small peas and evenly distributed throughout the mixture.
5. Top the prepared ramekins generously with the crumb topping, patting it down if you need to pile more on.
6. Bake for 40-45 minutes, until bubbly and the tops are golden brown.  Remove and let cool briefly before serving.
7. Serve hot, with cream, or cold (my preference) with some greek yogurt.

Leave a Reply

