How To Be a Brunch Goddess + Baked French Toast

Baked French Toast

This is yet another post about something I made a while back. A few weekends ago, I found myself exceptionally hungover and broke, both due to the fact that I spent the night drinking at the Feve. I meant to post about it, but I’m pretty sure the hangover lasted until Tuesday. Or I was just busy, as I was still a student at the time. HOWEVER, that is no longer the case, as I am currently in the midst of Senior Week, which at my school is the week leading up to Commencement. While I’m not busy (with schoolwork, at least), the nightly partying has certainly left me needing this kind of food.

Sliced ChallahPouring

This recipe is perfect for people like me, in that it requires very little effort and still produces an amazing result. It takes maybe 10 minutes maximum to put together, costs next to nothing to make, and you can go back to sleep for an extra 20-30 minutes while it bakes. Once it’s done, you can use it to rouse your comatose housemates out of bed, at the early hour of noon, or you know, just serve it at a breakfast. Oh, and if you feed it to hungover people (bonus points if you are too) you will become a goddess of brunch.

Absorbing BatterCrispy EdgesBaked French Toast

The recipe I used is a hybrid of two that both come from Smitten Kitchen. I always admired the original post, and even made it once, but definitely wanted a bit more flavoring. So when she posted about the updated version that will be in her book, I had to try it out.

Tips:

  • If you actually have your life together, you can prepare this the night before, making your morning the absolute easiest thing
  • As the second recipe shows, you don’t have to use challah bread, but you really ought to, because it’s just so good
  • Going off of that, if for some strange reason I wanted to have a healthy breakfast, I’m sure some multigrain bread could work
 

Baked French Toast

adapted from Smitten Kitchen

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1 loaf Challah bread (or any other kind) in 1-inch slices

3 cups whole milk

3 eggs

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons vanilla

Softened unsalted butter for greasing

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Whisk the cinnamon and sugar together in a small dish
  3. Generously grease a 9×13-inch baking dish with butter.
  4. Arrange bread in a tightly-packed layer in the pan. Sprinkle half of the cinnamon sugar over and repeat this with the rest of the bread- I only do two layers. Any extra cinnamon sugar should just be sprinkled on top.
  5. Whisk milk, eggs, salt and vanilla, and pour over the bread.
  6. Bake for 30 minutes, or until puffed and golden. This will take longer if you have additional layers.
  7. Cut into generous squares and serve with maple syrup, fresh fruit, and/or powdered sugar. My favorite is actually a dab of Spekuloos and a few strawberries.

Leave a Reply

