twice-baked potatoes

Twice-Baked Potato

I feel as though I say “I am SO obsessed with ~” about everything I post on here. Which is probably a good thing, and not all that odd considering I am the one who decides what I put on here. Yet despite my general over-enthusiasm for food and cooking, I especially love potatoes. I enjoy chalking it up to being Irish, but really, I think it’s because they are so versatile. They can serve as vessels for delicious fillings, be a bed on which veggies or a filet of meat rests, get sliced up into chips and fries, and so on.

SlicedCarved Potato

But baked potatoes might be my favorite way to eat them. On their own, or with maybe a little sour cream, they are pretty healthy. However, the same cannot be said for twice-baked potatoes. Baked once, you scoop out the filling, leaving behind a shell, and mix it up with all sorts of delicious things, like cheese and butter and more cheese and… well you get where I’m going. I used to not make them myself out of fear I wouldn’t be able to control myself, but finally on an exceptionally cold day in mid-April (I’ve been a little busy), I broke down and decided to make them.

 

FillingReady for Second Bake

I found the recipe off of, where else, Martha Stewart, and it was unsurprisingly great. I’ve made them several times (like I said, no self-contorl) and I’ve never been at all inclined to change it one bit.
Tips:
  • If you like a stronger cheese, like gruyere or even blue cheese (ick), you could probably swap them in.
  • These reheat well, either in the microwave or the oven. If making ahead of time, they can be refrigerated for up to 5 days, although they never lasted that long for me
Twice Baked Potatoes
2 large russet potatoes, scrubbed
3 to 4 tablespoons milk
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
2 tablespoons sour cream
1/2 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese
Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
1 tablespoon chopped fresh chives, plus more for garnish (I substituted green onions)
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Pierce potatoes with a fork; bake on oven rack until tender, 1 1/2 hours. Cool 10 minutes. Potatoes can also be cooked in a microwave on High for 9 minutes, and finished off in a 375-degree oven for about 20 minutes.
  2. Halve potatoes lengthwise, leaving a thin shell; scoop flesh into a medium bowl. Add milk, butter, sour cream, and 1/4 cup cheese. Season with salt and pepper; fold in chives to combine.
  3. Scoop filling into potatoes and place in a baking dish just large enough to hold them. Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup cheese. Bake until heated through, 15 to 20 minutes. Garnish with chives before serving.

Leave a Reply

