Bloody Mary Sorbet

Close-up of the sorbetIn my opinion, there are few things better than a good bloody mary. I started drinking them years ago (chill, they were alcohol-free at the time) when I worked as a hostess for brunch at a restaurant one summer. Unlike the servers or bussers, I was mostly stationed at the front, near the door, which meant I routinely went six hours without eating or drinking much. At best, I could sneak to the end of the bar to have a sip of water or coffee during slow points, but I was constantly hungry. So one day I decided to try out the bloody mary mix that I always watched the bartender make.Fresh IngredientsPre-Pulsed TomatoesNot only was it a great way to tide me over until the end of my shift, but I LOVED it. Granted, I love anything with tomatoes (except ketchup, oddly), but I was hooked. I ordered them all the time at restaurants, and even when I would say “virgin mary, please”, people would always give me a look before realizing I wasn’t trying to drink underage. I only recently started liking vodka in them, so when I saw this recipe on Epicurious last summer, I was determined to put my own twist on it.   So when the mixology class I’m in (no, it’s not a joke) announced we had to do presentations, I obviously went towards baking with alcohol. I had read in David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop that you can add a tablespoon or two to a liter of ice cream or sorbet to prevent it from freezing too hard, so this seemed like the perfect excuse to try that out.Straining the solidsFreezingBloody Mary SorbetAnd it was SO good. Not to brag, but everyone loved it, and it’s definitely become one of my go-to summer recipes.

Tips:

  • I actually used more hot sauce and horseradish than listed below, because I like things on the spicy side. If you do too, consider adding a teaspoon or so more of each- just be careful to taste as you go along, especially if you are making this for a group.
  • I was serving this in a very informal setting, but if you were to have this at a dinner party of sorts, I’d recommend serving it with a small stalk of celery and a lemon or lime wedge
  • At the end of our class, we all mingle with the drinks we’ve learned to make that night (I can’t believe I get college credit for this either), so I took a couple scoops and added some more vodka and made myself a BLOODY MARY SLUSHIE. Gah, so good.
  • If you don’t want to use alcohol for whatever reason, this would still be great dry

 

Blood Mary Sorbet

8 large ripe tomatoes, chopped
2 cups tomato juice
1 cup water
Juice of 2 limes (or lemons, if that’s your preference)
2 teaspoons Tabasco
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
2 teaspoons fresh horseradish
1 teaspoon salt
1-2 teaspoons ground pepper
2 tablespoons vodka or gin
  1. Blend tomatoes, tomato juice, lime juice and hot sauce with the water in a blender or food processor until smooth.
  2. Strain through a fine-mesh sieve; discard solids.
  3. Add Worcestershire sauce, horseradish, vodka (if using), salt and pepper. If you’re unsure how spicy you want it to be, add the ingredients in increments, tasting as you go along, until you reach your desired levels of flavor and spice.
  4. Chill in the fridge for 30 minutes to an hour.
  5. Freeze in an ice cream maker, as directed by manufacturer. Store in freezer.

Leave a Reply

