Earl Grey Ice Cream

I like tea. A lot. If the photo above is any indication, my housemates and I consume a whole lot of it. I drink it year-round, both hot and cold. There are few things in this world that I find more soothing than having a hot cup of strongly brewed tea with milk and a bit of sugar in the winter, or more refreshing than a glass of cold iced tea in sweltering heat.

This recipe was actually the first I tried after buying my all-things-frozen-bible, because I had dreamed of one day getting an ice cream maker and making the milk tea I had become obsessed with while in Japan years ago into ice cream. The original recipe uses black currant tea- I tried out darjeeling. I think that flavor was a bit much, but I loved it with earl grey.

I can’t wait to test it with irish breakfast tea.

Black Currant Earl Grey Tea Ice Cream

adapted from David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop

1 cup whole milk
2 cups heavy cream, divided
3/4 cup granulated sugar
Pinch of salt
1/4 cup loose tea leaves
5 egg yolks

  1. Combine the milk, sugar, salt, tea, and one cup of the cream in a medium saucepan and heat until warm, but not boiling. Remove from heat, cover with a lid and let stand for 1 hour.
  2. To make the ice cream, set up an ice bath by placing a 2-quart (2l) bowl in a larger bowl partially filled with ice and water. Set a strainer over the top of the smaller bowl and pour the cream into the bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, stir together the egg yolks. Rewarm the milk then gradually pour some of the milk into the yolks, whisking constantly as you pour. Scrape the warmed yolks and milk back into the saucepan.
  4. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly and scraping the bottom with a heat-resistant spatula, until the custard thickens enough to coat the spatula (this usually occurs at about 175 degrees F).
  5. Strain the custard into the heavy cream. Push on the tea leaves to extract maximum flavor, but do not push through the strainer. Stir over the ice until cool, then refrigerate to chill thoroughly. Preferably overnight.
  6. Freeze the custard in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Leave a Reply

