Backwards Logic + Fleur de Lait Ice Cream

I’ve been fighting a cold this past week, and I knew some homemade ice cream would be good for the soul/my throat. However, I as much as I love freshly churned ice cream, most recipes are somewhat arduous, albeit totally worthwhile. Looking through David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop, the ones that sounded good were going to take too long, I didn’t have any fruit on hand to make sorbet, etc. I was about to give up and make my sister get me ice cream when I saw the words “fleur de lait” (milk flower in french). I originally wanted to title my blog milk flower! I love milk! Things sound pretty in French! I made it immédiatement.

I love everything about this ice cream (well technically it’s gelato): it’s not too heavy, its flavor is subtle and it’s incredibly easy to make. It tastes exactly like what it is, which is sweetened cream, and although heavy cream is by no means healthy, it is far less indulgent than yolk-heavy recipes.

Fleur de Lait Ice Cream

From David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop

2 cups whole milk
3/4 cup sugar
pinch of salt
3 tbsp cornstarch
1 cup heavy cream

  1. Combine the milk, sugar and salt in a medium saucepan and warm (the recipe didn’t specify what heat, so I did it over medium heat).
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk the cornstarch into the cream until dissolved
  3. Stir the cream into the warmed milk mixture and heat, stirring constantly, until it begins to boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for two minutes, still stirring.
  4. Remove from heat and cool, then chill for at least 8 hours, preferably over night.
  5. Freeze according to your ice cream maker’s instructions. Don’t share.

Leave a Reply

