Spaghetti a la vodka

I’ve made this before, and when done properly (i.e. making the effort to go to the grocery store and get all the things the recipe actually calls for) it tasted exactly like it does in an Italian restaurant. Despite my laziness, it’s really good and fairly simple to make, so long as you don’t mind parting with a cup of vodka.

Adapted Improvized from this

My changes were these:

-I did not have shallots and substituted half of a medium-sized yellow onion, which compromised the sweetness of the sauce. I didn’t mind it, but if you’re going for the real thing, shallots make a difference.

-I only had a can of whole tomatoes, rather than the crushed ones. I took them out and diced them a little, but the sauce still came out on the thin side. You can always just cook the sauce longer- I think the recipe gives a fairly short simmering time- but the crushed tomatoes work way better. Again, with the laziness, I neither possessed nor cared to shred basil. I managed.

-I find the term “moderate heat” vague and difficult. The first time I made the sauce, I was cooking on an electric stove and set the heat to medium. Nowadays, I cook on a gas stove, which allows for a bit more control, and I kept in on the lower side of “medium”, or a 4. I think this sauce, especially when adding the vodka, should be cooked hotter rather than cooler, to help ensure liquid absorption.

Leave a Reply

